Rules & Bylaws

The ANCs conduct their business under Robert’s Rules of Order. In addition, ANC 3/4G must follow its Bylaws, which are adopted each year and may only be amended following a duly noticed meeting and a majority vote of the Commission. Our ANC also follows a number of Standing Rules that generally govern the conduct of our meetings but may be waived or modified at any time by a majority vote of the Commission.



There is established by an act of the Government of the District of Columbia, the Advisory Neighborhood Commission 3G, District of Columbia Government in Chevy Chase, hereinafter referred to as the Commission and known as ANC 3/4G. The boundaries of ANC 3/4G are as follows:

From the corner of 41st Street and Western Avenue, NW Northeast on Western Avenue (extended) to Rock Creek, Southward following Rock Creek to Military Road, West on Military Road to 27th Street, South on 27th Street to Broad Branch Road, Northwest on Broad Branch Road which becomes Nevada Avenue to Nebraska Avenue, Southwest on Nebraska Avenue to Reno Road, and Northwest on Reno Road (which becomes 41st Street) to Western Avenue.


Section 1.
The general purpose of the Commission is to communicate the views and represent the interests of every neighborhood within its boundaries to the Government of the District of Columbia.

Section 2.
The activities, duties and responsibilities of the Commission shall be those specified in DC Code Section 1-207.38 and 1-309.01 et seq.


Section 1.
The Commission shall be composed solely of those persons duly elected and certified by the D.C. Board of Elections and Ethics or duly appointed in accordance with the law to its single member districts.

Section 2.
Members shall serve without compensation.

Section 3.
All members shall have equal voting rights following the principle of one person, one vote. A Commissioner may vote in person or in absentia at any meeting of the Commission. A Commissioner voting in absentia shall submit a vote in writing (including by e-mail or facsimile), executed by the Commissioner, to the Secretary or other officer of the Commission authorized to tabulate votes, before or at the time of the meeting wherein the vote is held. The in absentia vote shall specifically indicate the agenda items and motion(s) to which it is addressed. The in absentia vote shall be effective when so received by the tabulating official of the Commission. A vote in absentia has the same effect as if the Commissioner had voted in person, except that it shall not affect the declaration of a quorum.

Section 4.
A quorum for the conduct of business, including internal organization and election of officers, shall be a majority of the elected Commissioners.


Section 1.
The Commission shall elect a Chairperson, a Vice-Chairperson, a Secretary, a Treasurer, and such other officers as may be necessary from among the Commission members and may be offered as a slate. The offices of Secretary and Treasurer may be held by the same person.

Section 2.
The election of officers shall take place in January of each year. Nominations for each office shall be made only by the Commission members. There shall be no limit as to the number of such nominations.

Section 3.
When nominations are closed, the election shall take place by open vote and will be conducted by a designated member of the Commission who has not been nominated. The person who has received a simple majority of the votes cast shall be elected to that office.

Section 4.
Voting for each office shall be concluded before the floor is opened for nominations for another office, except when officers are offered as a slate pursuant to Article IV, Section 1.

Section 5.
In the event that there is no simple majority after the first ballot, there shall be a run-off election between the two candidates receiving the most votes.

Section 6.
Officers shall assume office at the close of elections. In the event of a vacancy, the person filling the vacant position shall serve out the term of the officers he/she replaced.

Section 7.
Upon a motion by a Commissioner, after two weeks of prior notice to all Commissioners, a majority of the Commissioners may remove any officer of the Commission for cause.

Section 8.
Vacancies among officers shall be filled at the next regular meeting of the Commission. Nominations and elections shall occur in accordance with the election procedures set forth in these By-Laws. In the case of a vacancy in the office of Treasurer, a special meeting of the Commission shall be held within seven (7) days of such a vacancy to select a new Treasurer.

Section 9.
The Chairperson shall serve as a convener of Commission meetings and shall establish the agenda after consultation with Commission members.

Section 10.
The Vice-Chairperson shall fulfill the obligations of the Chairperson in his/her absence and shall perform such other duties as may be delegated by the Chairperson.

Section 11.
The Office Manager, under the Commission approved job description and at the direction of the Chairman, shall be responsible for the preparation of the minutes of all meetings of the Commission and for making the minutes available to all the members of the Commission.

Minutes in draft will be circulated following meetings. Any changes or corrections must be submitted prior to or at the next regular meeting during which final approval will be made.

Section 12.
The Office manager, under the direction of the Secretary, shall be responsible for maintaining records of all Commission activities, serve as central repository of copies of records of all committees and task forces, and shall perform such other duties as may be required. In the preparation of minutes, reports, etc., the Office Manager shall have the assistance of available Commissioners.

Section 13.
The Treasurer shall conduct his/her office according to the regulations adopted by the Government of the District of Columbia.

Section 14.
The Treasurer shall develop an annual fiscal budget request on forms to be provided by the Government of the District of Columbia.

Section 15.
The Treasurer shall prepare, and the Commission shall approve, a quarterly financial report within thirty (30) days of the close of each fiscal quarter. These reports shall be public documents and shall be available for public inspection.

Section 16.
All checks drawn upon checking accounts and all withdrawal orders upon savings accounts of ANC 3/4G shall be signed by any two of the following four officers: Treasurer, Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Secretary. The Treasurer shall deposit all receipts (including the District allotments), except for any interest earned in a savings account, into the Commission’s checking account. The Treasurer shall place any funds withdrawn from a savings account only into the Commission’s checking account

Section 17.
The Chairperson and Treasurer shall be bonded.

Section 18.
The Commission shall, by resolution approved by a majority of its members, designate one or more financial institutions within the District of Columbia as depositories of all Commission funds.

Section 19.
The officers of the Commission are authorized to take action, in case of urgency and during the interim between regular meetings, on matters of budgetary or any other matter of significance. A vote of three of the four officers is required for any such action.


Section 1.
All meetings of the Commission shall be open to the public.

Section 2.
Special meetings of the Commission can be called by the Chairperson or upon request of any two (2) Commissioners. The purpose of the special meeting shall be stated in the notice, and no other topic shall be discussed at that meeting, except by unanimous consent of the Commissioners at the beginning of the meeting.